Northampton OUI & DUI Attorney

Massachusetts DUI Law

Although the popular term for a drunk driving offense is DUI, the State of Massachusetts refers to this crime as OUI – Operating Under the Influence. Although the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08%, you can still be charged with OUI even if you are under this threshold. If the police officer believes you are too impaired to safely operate your vehicle, you can be arrested for OUI.

  • If you’re charged with a first offense OUI, you could face the following consequences:
  • Up to 30 months in jail
  • Up to $5000 in fines, fees, and penalties
  • Up to a 3-year suspension of your driver’s license (if you refused the breath test)
  • A prior OUI conviction on your record, which will yield greater penalties for a subsequent offense

However, these penalties can often be reduced or avoided entirely with help from an experienced Northampton DUI defense attorney. In many cases, a lawyer can help you avoid jail time, reduce the length of your license suspension, and more.

Don’t Take Risks With Your Future

After being charged with DUI, many people wrongly assume that the judge or prosecutor will “go easy” on them as a first-time offender. In reality, this is far from the truth – the harsh penalties are meant as a deterrent to prevent future offenses, so a judge will rarely show you mercy.

Drunk Driving Defense Attorney in Northampton

Arrested for Operating Under the Influence in Western Massachusetts?

Seeing flashing lights and hearing sirens behind you can be terrifying, regardless of whether you are on your way home from work or a night out drinking. If you have been pulled over while on the road and arrested for OUI, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it is important to know you have rights and options. You do not have to answer questions and you can ask to have Northampton criminal defense attorney Jesse Adams present.

Don’t Let a Mistake Decide Your Future – Call 413.585.9200 Now

Contrary to what many people think, a drunk driving arrest is far more serious than a traffic ticket – this is a criminal offense that can lead to jail time, a loss of your driving privileges, and much more. If you’ve been arrested, you may be feeling frightened, overwhelmed, and may not know what to do next. It’s important to act quickly to protect your rights, future, and freedom.

The very first call you should make is to the Law Offices of Jesse Adams. For more than a decade, Jesse has proudly defended the residents of Northampton and the surrounding communities. As a former member of the Northampton City Council, Jesse is well-known among judges, prosecutors, and court staff – giving you a respected voice in the courtroom.

Do not plead guilty without talking to a Northampton DUI lawyer. Get started now with a free initial consultation.

What Happens After a DUI Arrest in Northampton?

Once you are pulled over for drunk driving, or OUI, it is vital that you remain silent, save for providing law enforcement with your identification or registration when requested. You are not obligated to agree to do any type of field testing, such as a finger to the nose or walking in a straight line. You are not obligated to do any testing and we advise you not to do any tests, despite the possibility of license suspension and other consequences. Jesse Adams can help you, no matter what.

  • Why work with the Law Offices of Jesse Adams?
  • 10+ years of proven courtroom experience
  • Reputation for zealous, persuasive representation
  • Personalized counsel from start to finish
  • True career defense attorney
  • Thorough investigation and research
  • Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Speaking with Northampton DUI attorney Jesse Adams as quickly as possible is essential in order to prevent a conviction and the penalties. The exact penalties you could face if convicted depend on whether it is your first offense or an existing record, as well as whether there are any other factors involved. If you have previously been convicted for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the penalties are much more severe.

  • If you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you could be facing:
  • Probation or jail time
  • $500-$50,000 in fines
  • Suspension or total revocation of license
  • Participation in an alcohol or drug program

Did you Already Take A Field Sobriety Test?

What is the Importance of Field Sobriety Tests When Arrested for OUI?

Field Sobriety Tests (FST) are roadside balancing and coordination tests administered by police officers to determine whether or not to arrest someone for an OUI in Massachusetts. Unfortunately, if law enforcement requires you to perform an FST, they have already determined that you will be arrested and these tests are used to collect more information to establish probable cause.

  • The three types of field sobriety tests include:
  • One Leg Stand Test
  • Walk and Turn Test
  • Horizontal Gaze and Nystagmus

If you are asked to take an FST in Massachusetts, you are under no legal obligation to take them and can refuse them without any negative consequences. An FST refusal cannot be admitted into evidence.

Defenses Against Field Sobriety Tests

There are a variety of ways to contest FST’s result and challenge the officer’s conclusion that you failed these tests. Physical conditions – such as your weight, age, and health concerns – can make performing these tests difficult. Weather conditions can make balancing on one foot or walking a straight line challenging, as well as conditions of the road, such as if it is on a hill or a steep incline. On the other hand, there is a possibility that the arresting officer administered the tests incorrectly.

While given under ideal conditions, The National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports have shown that these tests have minimal reliability. According to the NHTSA study, The One Leg Stand test had a 65% reliability rate, the Walk and Turn test was 68% reliable, while the Horizontal Gaze test had a 71% reliability rate.

Call 413.585.9200 to Let Us Fight for You

Have You Lost Your License in Northampton?

If you have lost your license after a driving under the influence conviction or are concerned about protecting your license now, the Law Offices of Jesse Adams can help. Northampton drunk driving defense attorney Jesse Adams can assist you with filing petitions with the RMV (Registry of Motor Vehicles) or represent you in any upcoming hearings. He is here to answer any of your questions and act as a reliable legal advocate.

To schedule a free case evaluation, simply call the office at 413.585.9200.

Massachusetts OUI Penalties

Understand the Potential Consequences You Face

If you were recently arrested and charged with an OUI in Massachusetts, you want to know the potential repercussions and what you should do next. The following is a list of the penalties you are facing if you found guilty of an OUI. It is imperative to obtain the legal assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

  • The following are the penalties for a first offense OUI:
  • Maximum jail sentence of two-and-a-half years
  • Fines of up to $5,000
  • License suspension for up to one year
  • If you refuse a breath test after an arrest, your license is automatically suspended for 180 days
  • Eligible for a work and education hardship license in three months
  • Eligible for a general hardship license in six months
  • The following are the penalties for your second offense OUI:
  • Mandatory minimum jail sentence of 30 days
  • Maximum jail sentence of two-and-a-half years
  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • License suspension for up to two years
  • If you refuse a breath test after an arrest, your license is automatically suspended for three years
  • Eligible for a work and education hardship license in one year
  • Eligible for a general hardship license in 18 months
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle at your own expense for two years as a condition of any license reinstatement
  • The following are the penalties for your third offense OUI:
  • Mandatory minimum jail sentence of 150 days
  • Maximum prison sentence of five years
  • Fines of up to $15,000
  • License suspension for eight years
  • Eligible for work and education hardship license in two years
  • Eligible for general hardship license in four years
  • The following are the penalties for your fourth offense OUI:
  • Mandatory minimum jail sentence of one year
  • Maximum prison sentence of five years
  • Fines of up to $25,000
  • License suspension for ten years
  • Eligible for work and education hardship license in five years
  • Eligible for general hardship license in eight years

For skilled and reliable legal representation in Massachusetts, contact our Northampton criminal defense attorney at The Law Offices of Jesse Adams. Get more than a decade of legal experience on your side today.

Massachusetts Underage OUI

Protect Your Rights with Our Northampton DUI Attorney

While an OUI and DUI are both the same crime in Massachusetts, an OUI is only issued to those who are under the legal drinking age of 21 upon their arrest. An underage drinker can potentially face jail time, fines, license suspension, OUI classes, hours of community service, increased insurance rates and a permanent mark on their criminal record.

An OUI this early in your life can have damaging consequences to your reputation. If you have been charged with an OUI, our Northampton criminal defense at the Law Offices of Jesse Adams can provide you with the solid representation necessary to reduce the number of penalties against you or even have your case thrown out entirely.

OUI Penalties

The legal BAC for drivers under 21 years old in Massachusetts is 0.02%, which is significantly much less than the legal limit for drivers over 21 years of age. Unfortunately, an OUI conviction for a person under 21 carries the same penalties as adults.

  • The following are the penalties for an underage OUI conviction:</li
  • Maximum jail sentence of two and a half years
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $5,000
  • License suspension for up to one year
  • Additional charges for underage drivers may include the following:
  • Minor in possession of alcohol
  • Soliciting alcohol
  • Distributing alcohol to minors
  • Possession of false ID
  • Child endangerment

Experienced & Reliable Legal Representation

At the Law Offices of Jesse Adams, our Northampton DUI attorney has helped many individuals in similar situations obtain the results they desire. Let us protect your rights and reputation by filling out a free case review today.

Contact our firm and schedule your complimentary consultation.