Massachusetts Underage OUI
Protect Your Rights with Our Northampton DUI Attorney
While an OUI and DUI are both the same crime in Massachusetts, an OUI is only issued to those who are under the legal drinking age of 21 upon their arrest. An underage drinker can potentially face jail time, fines, license suspension, OUI classes, hours of community service, increased insurance rates and a permanent mark on their criminal record.
An OUI this early in your life can have damaging consequences to your reputation. If you have been charged with an OUI, our Northampton criminal defense at the Law Offices of Jesse Adams can provide you with the solid representation necessary to reduce the number of penalties against you or even have your case thrown out entirely.
The legal BAC for drivers under 21 years old in Massachusetts is 0.02%, which is significantly much less than the legal limit for drivers over 21 years of age. Unfortunately, an OUI conviction for a person under 21 carries the same penalties as adults.
- The following are the penalties for an underage OUI conviction:
- Maximum jail sentence of two and a half years
- Fines ranging from $500 to $5,000
- License suspension for up to one year
- Additional charges for underage drivers may include the following:
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Soliciting alcohol
- Distributing alcohol to minors
- Possession of false ID
- Child endangerment
Experienced & Reliable Legal Representation
At the Law Offices of Jesse Adams, our Northampton DUI attorney has helped many individuals in similar situations obtain the results they desire. Let us protect your rights and reputation by filling out a free case review today.
Contact our firm and schedule your complimentary consultation.