Proudly Serving Communities Throughout Western Massachusetts
Massachusetts Law defines domestic violence as nearly any criminal act of abuse committed by one member of a family or household against another. Abuse is considered as causing or attempting to cause physical harm, placing another person in fear of imminent serious physical harm, or causing another to engage in unconsented sexual relations by threat, force, or duress.
If you were arrested and charged with a domestic violence crime in Massachusetts, The Law Offices of Jesse Adams is committed to protecting your rights, reputation, and freedom. With more than a decade of legal experience, Attorney Adams has a comprehensive understanding of state domestic violence law and can help you navigate through the complexities of the legal system.
A law enforcement officer must make an arrest if the officer has probable cause that an individual has committed a felony, misdemeanor, or assault and battery against a family or household member. Furthermore, police must also make an arrest if they have reason to believe that an individual has violated a protective order.
Assault, as well as assault and battery, are punishable by a maximum jail sentence of two-and-a-half years and a fine of up to $1,000. However, assault and battery by a defendant under a restraining order is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of five years and a fine of up to $5,000.
Violation of a protective order results in a maximum jail sentence of two-and-a-half years and a fine of up to $5,000. However, an offender is subject to other fines associated with the domestic violence case.
Our Northampton criminal defense lawyer understands that tempers flare and emotions can turn into impulsive actions, but that doesn’t mean that you are a criminal. Let us help you get your life back on the right track immediately.
Contact us and request a free consultation to discuss your legal options.